Google Search

TenantNet Forum Archives 1996-2002
Posting and Replies are disabled in all Archives
TenantNet Forum | TenantNet Forum Archives Index

tenant rights

Posted by Nachiketa Joshi on February 02, 2000 at 21:36:56:

I am renting an apartment in Omaha, NE. I signed a lease that says that if I leave the apartment before 12 months, I wash my hands off $250 deposit *and* pay $600+ cancellation fee. Now we are going to have baby (I did not know this when the lease was signed) and we need an apartment with washer and dryer. The apartment does not have it, however, I am in the hole of $850 if I break the lease. I am ready to pay $250 in foregone deposit, but $600 cancellation is too much. Is there any way out of this? The management is totally inflexible about this.

Any advice about the course of action will be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

-Nachiketa Joshi

Follow Ups:

Note: Posting is disabled in all archives
Post a Followup

Name    : 
E-Mail  : 
Subject : 
Comments: Optional Link URL: Link Title: Optional Image URL:


TenantNet Home | TenantNet Forum | New York Tenant Information | Contact Us
DHCR Information | DHCR Decisions | Housing Court Decisions | New York Rent Laws |

Subscribe to our Mailing List!
Your Email      Full Name