Google Search

TenantNet Forum Archives 1996-2002
Posting and Replies are disabled in all Archives
TenantNet Forum | TenantNet Forum Archives Index

Re: Notice to Vacate

Posted by Renee on April 09, 2001 at 04:20:08:

In Reply to: Notice to acate posted by A Nogueira on April 08, 2001 at 23:44:56:

When there is no written agreement, state laws prevail. Most state laws require 30 days notice for one rental period. That means that if your rent is due on the first of the month, your rental period is from the first og the month to the last of the month and you have to have your notice in the day before the first. Since you are probably on month to month, your lease would last month would run from April 1 thru April 30, 2001 and you should have made sure that your WRITTEN 30 days notice was in the hands of your Landlord no later than March 31, 2001. Since you are probably on month to month, your lease will end on April 30, eventhough you choose to leave on the 15th. Check the laws in your state to be sure. There are several sited on the web where you can find them. Good Luck!

Follow Ups:

Note: Posting is disabled in all archives
Post a Followup

Name    : 
E-Mail  : 
Subject : 
Comments: Optional Link URL: Link Title: Optional Image URL:


TenantNet Home | TenantNet Forum | New York Tenant Information | Contact Us
DHCR Information | DHCR Decisions | Housing Court Decisions | New York Rent Laws |

Subscribe to our Mailing List!
Your Email      Full Name