Google Search

TenantNet Forum Archives 1996-2002
Posting and Replies are disabled in all Archives
TenantNet Forum | TenantNet Forum Archives Index

Re: Contractual Alternatives to Leases (A Long One)

Posted by Dayann on August 06, 2001 at 14:22:00:

In Reply to: Contractual Alternatives to Leases posted by kim on August 03, 2001 at 17:48:11:

Hi, Kim. I am not a lawyer but I've dealt with NY landlords for a good 7 years, and I'm telling you now, this guy is not an honest guy, don't sit there with nothing but an oral agreement. After reading your post, I immediately saw a bunch of red flags on the horizon. He has no problem defining this as a landlord/tenant business relationship when he collects money from you, yet he has a problem doing so when you want a document that protects you from being tossed out on the street when he decides that he wants more money for your apartment or he wants to give your apartment to his long lost aunt. Don't buy it. Anyone who wants to take your money but doesn't want to put something in writing, documenting that money was exchanged and what the relationship is, is not someone to be trusted. Masking it in friendly language ("oh but we're roommies, we're friends, we don't need an agreement") is an indication that the guy likes to manipulate people into giving up their rights as tenants. (If he was a good "friend" or a good "roommate" he would respect your need to feel secure about the situation and he'd have no problem defining your relationship to him in writing.)