Google Search

TenantNet Forum Archives 1996-2002
Posting and Replies are disabled in all Archives
TenantNet Forum | TenantNet Forum Archives Index

new landlord

Posted by maryann on October 06, 1997 at 23:42:33:

I'm in New York State, but NOT, I repeat NOT in New York Ctiy. I am new to being a landlord, but I am not an absenttee landlord; I occupy one flat, the other is getting some work done and will be ready to rent.

I am thrilled that our city just past a law tonight to padlock and board up apartments, etc., if two arrests for drugs or weapons occur on the premises twice in three years. The biggest problem is that judges are so darn liberal that if a landlord tries to evict such a tenant, the judges always side with the tenant saying "oh the tenant is a single mom and the little children will be homeless if we put them out." I had a neighbor who hasn't rented in 15 years because her last tenants damaged the place to the tune of $4,000 and it cost her $3,000 to evict them and the judge refused to make the tenants reimburse for the damages.

The home I now own has been in our family since 1918, my kids are the 4th generation to live and be raised in it. I have many ideas on fixing it up, doing some restoration, etc.