Google Search

TenantNet Forum Archives 1996-2002
Posting and Replies are disabled in all Archives
TenantNet Forum | TenantNet Forum Archives Index

keep 1 mo. rent for key 3 days late?

Posted by Kim on June 30, 1998 at 12:39:39:

First of all, this occurred in NH not NY, but I couldn't find a thing
about NH rent laws on the net...
My brother recently moved out of an apt. complex in NH. He moved on 5/30
and returned the keys on 6/3. The landlords are now informing him that
since he did not return the keys right away, it is their policy to charge
him for one months rent! Their reasoning is that he "had access to the
apartment" (what's he going to do in an empty apartment? and for 3 days?).
As I said, they say it is "policy" but it is NOT in the lease and I have
never heard of such a thing. Is this legal? He has been phoning them
repeatedly and getting the run-around and no answers whatsoever. Please
help! I am heading up there from NYC this week and want to help him
straighten this out.

Follow Ups:

Note: Posting is disabled in all archives
Post a Followup

Name    : 
E-Mail  : 
Subject : 
Comments: Optional Link URL: Link Title: Optional Image URL:


TenantNet Home | TenantNet Forum | New York Tenant Information | Contact Us
DHCR Information | DHCR Decisions | Housing Court Decisions | New York Rent Laws |

Subscribe to our Mailing List!
Your Email      Full Name