Google Search

TenantNet Forum Archives 1996-2002
Posting and Replies are disabled in all Archives
TenantNet Forum | TenantNet Forum Archives Index

PRO-Tenant & PRO-bono Attorney for Offense in Rent Overcharge Case

Posted by TM on February 16, 1999 at 10:45:31:

I'm a long-time permanent resident in an SRO Hotel/UWS. Due to a revocation of Order Finding Rent Overcharges via PAR filed by LL and granted four years later...LL's attorney served me at end of October with instant 3-day demand for a claim of over $83,000. This is an extreme and unbearable financial hardship created by the fact that it took DHCR four years to decide [not "a reasonable length of time" for sure!] and I was advised to file a petition for emergency bankruptcy. Does appealing to Federal laws having precedent over State laws really get at the heart of my case in determining what the legal-registered is, as mandated by RSL?
For many years I was neither registered as the current tenant, nor was the current rent I was paying listed in the Annual Rent Registrations. All of a sudden, back in 1990 - after being a permanent resident for over five years before and NEVER LISTED as the current tenant and paying more than twice the amount of the registered rent, I received ARR finally listing me at the tenant and the excessive amount of rent I was paying - the registered rent in a consistent history going back to 1984 had suddenly jumped from a figure around $400 to over $900 - with no reason given on the apartment registration form for this increase . . .