TenantNet Forum

Where tenants can seek help and help others

Co-op Apartment Management issues

Issues unrelated to specific categories below

Moderator: TenantNet

Co-op Apartment Management issues

Postby Cassiopea369 » Fri Mar 19, 2021 1:51 pm

hello

Who decides in the cooperative apartment property management, regarding monthly maintenance late fees that are being imposed on shareholders?
Is it lawful and legit? Or they can do whatever they want? Can I fight this?
I was late two days with the payment ( bank deposit issues) and i got late fee in the amount of $50 I wrote a letter to the board of directors ( i was told to do so by the secretary) and they still decided to impose me with the fees. Not to mention that they raising maintenance every year around $15 ( i know that this is NY and it its corrupt way especially after 2020 year it because more
obvious)
I have been residing in that coop for 20 yrs, and did my best to pay on time. They are claiming that they have a record of my payment history, and according to them i was late few time times.
Well many are unemployed and are struggling with payments, while trying to survive at such difficult times.

Apologies for a long post
Thank you
Last edited by Cassiopea369 on Sat Mar 20, 2021 11:02 am, edited 1 time in total.
Cassiopea369

Re: Co-op Apartment Management issues

Postby TenantNet » Fri Mar 19, 2021 3:27 pm

Are you a shareholder or a tenant renting from a shareholder? (I know it's confusing as shareholders are often referred to as tenants ... if that's the case are you a "sub-tenant" of a shareholder?)

If a real (non-shareholder) tenant, are you rent stab ... were you in occupancy when the conversion to a coop occurred?
The Tenant Network(tm) for Residential Tenants
Information from TenantNet is from experienced non-attorney tenant
activists and is not considered legal advice.

Subscribe to our Twitter Feed @TenantNet
TenantNet

Postby Cassiopea369 » Sat Mar 20, 2021 10:52 am

Hi