TenantNet Forum

Where tenants can seek help and help others

harrassing neighbor

Issues unrelated to specific categories below

Moderator: TenantNet

harrassing neighbor

Postby starfish » Wed Apr 02, 2003 5:00 pm

I am a nyc resident. I have lived in my rent stab apt for 1 year of a 2 year lease. At the signing of my lease the mang agent warned my about the woman below me that she complains of noise often but that she was not that bad and that if I whether I wanted to put down rugs or not was my choice. Since the first day I moved in she has been on my back asking me to take my shoes of when I walk through the door and not to put them back on til I left again. Also not to stomp but to tred lightly on the floor. She then informed me of the laws of my lease, my floors must be 80% covered. I complied with everything she asked and still she complained. She involved the mangement agency and when I spoke with them to try to explain that I am doing everything possible it fell on deaf ears. The agency has threatend my with not renewing my lease. I have even written a letter pleading with both the tenant and agency to cut me some slack here. The woman below me has been here forever. I don't know what else to do I don't even have people over because I am worried they will walk to heavy I don't play music because I afraid it will make to much vibration. I love my apt and don't want to be forced out but I am going crazy. Help!!!
starfish

Re: harrassing neighbor

Postby mjr203 » Wed Apr 02, 2003 5:49 pm

if your apartment is rent stabilized then you do not have to worry about the management company evicting you because of the petty complaints of this downstairs neighbor.

Rent stabilization guarantees you certain rights. They must offer you a renewal lease, can only evict for certain reasons, must go to housing court to gain possession etc. etc.