TenantNet Forum

Where tenants can seek help and help others

landlord not fixing leaking ceiling which has leaked for

Issues unrelated to specific categories below

Moderator: TenantNet

landlord not fixing leaking ceiling which has leaked for

Postby marguerite » Tue Aug 20, 2002 11:25 pm

I'm new to this, so forgive me if this sort of thing has been posted before. I have lived in the same rent stablized apartment for nine years with very cheap rent. For the past six years, I have had persistant leaking from my ceiling. My bedroom is located under a roof garden, and I have had leakage pretty much every time it rains. My landlord has been extremely unhelpful- usually a painter will come in and apply plaster and a coat of paint, and it will act as a band aid to the issue, but little else. I believe that they are reluctant to do anything else because they would like me to move out. They have informed me that I would have to move out of the apartment in order to really get to the root of the problem- that they would have to tear up the ceilign and look at the pipes. Since this was not a "pre-existing condition" when I began renting, I feel that they should be working with me to solve this problem. I have offered to have a contractor come in and make an estimate. I believe that this can be fixed, but think my landlord is stalling. How can I get this fixed?- I love my apartment and cheap rent!
marguerite

Re: landlord not fixing leaking ceiling which has leaked for

Postby my2boysjj » Wed Aug 21, 2002 10:59 am