TenantNet Forum

Where tenants can seek help and help others

URGENT question - RPL for gas

Issues unrelated to specific categories below

Moderator: TenantNet

URGENT question - RPL for gas

Postby greenslade » Mon Sep 20, 2010 7:26 pm

Help please! I need to know the NY Real Property Law (RPL) section and article that states that tenants in LL owned buildings have the right to gas (for cooking). The section and article may conversely imply the right to gas in an undeniable way (like drawing it under "appurtenances" or something - can you tell I'm not a lawyer?).

Could someone please cite the RPL?

Thanks!
greenslade

Postby Cranky Tenant » Mon Sep 20, 2010 10:55 pm

Have you tried checking the links, under Housing Laws, at the top of this page?
I'm a cranky tenant NOT a cranky lawyer.
Cranky Tenant

Postby greenslade » Mon Sep 20, 2010 11:00 pm

Cranky Tenant wrote:Have you tried checking the links, under Housing Laws, at the top of this page?
Oh yes, and I find nothing there that addresses this. The RPL and the Housing Maintenance Code that are given here go into gas appliances, but really only speaking of heaters and not cooking gas.
I guess I'm saying I'm hoping a lawyer would come across this and be kind enough to answer. :bounce:
greenslade

Postby TenantNet » Mon Sep 20, 2010 11:36 pm

I would have suggested the Housing Maintenance Code or the Multiple Dwelling Law, if anything. Occasionally the NYC Zoning Resolution goes into some specifics. The NYC Electric Code or the NYC Building Code might address minimum provisions.

The law would likely not express one's right to a particular service, but rather would speak to a situation that if the service was being provided, then certain minimum standards be met. Also, standards would reflect construction standards designed to ensure basic safety (i.e., windows for ventilation, flame resistant materials, etc., plumbing standards and tests for leaks such as the peppermint test).