TenantNet Forum

Where tenants can seek help and help others

Leaseholder moved. LL wants new lease. Don't want to sign

Issues unrelated to specific categories below

Moderator: TenantNet

Leaseholder moved. LL wants new lease. Don't want to sign

Postby liveinbrooklyn » Tue Feb 08, 2011 6:31 pm

Hello-

So. We live in an illegal loft conversion. The leaseholder moved out. We are paying management the full rent. Management found out the leaseholder moved out. They want us to sign a new lease. But... they increased the rent $500.00. We have been living here for a long time (year+).

We don't want to sign a lease until maitanence in the apartment is taken care of.

We have paid through March 1st. We want to stay... but the management wants us to sign. I want to know.. .. what type of notice will they give us if they want to evict us? Do we have any rights?
liveinbrooklyn

Postby CityWifi » Tue Feb 22, 2011 4:45 am

I am not an expert in this, and will avoid giving you lease advice.

But if there is work to be done on the apartment, I would consider calling in the City to do a detailed inspection when the time is right. Of course, do NOT do this until you have reviewed your rights and have been given informed advice on this forum.

If you can be sure you won't legally be forced out of the apartment if the City finds out it's illegal, you can then take the steps you need to set things right. You may want to find out if you can withhold rent before doing that. I would also ask the forum what recourse you have if in fact an illegal conversion forces you to move. Must the LL pay for moving expenses? Can you stay if it's your choice? If not, how much time do you have to leave?