TenantNet Forum

Where tenants can seek help and help others

Carpeting required for 2nd floor apartment?

Issues unrelated to specific categories below

Moderator: TenantNet

Carpeting required for 2nd floor apartment?

Postby brooklyngal89 » Sat Dec 31, 2011 9:59 pm

Hello there! This is my first time posting here, so forgive me if I put this in the wrong section. I have a question concerning carpeting (or lack of it) in a second floor apartment. I live on the first floor, and my upstairs neighbors are driving me absolutely insane! Both of our families have lived in the building for many years. They always had carpeting in their apartment, and we never had an issue with it.
Last summer, they apparently asked my LL (who actually lives on the third floor)if they could replace their carpet with hardwood. Yikes! Ever since then, I hear every footstep they make. Not only that, but they have 10 kids (in a relatively small 3 BR apt), and 3 grandkids, who come over every afternoon. I can't even see how that is legal, but my main issue is the floor.