TenantNet Forum

Where tenants can seek help and help others

Consultation about legal advise on an Loft Law case

Issues unrelated to specific categories below

Moderator: TenantNet

Consultation about legal advise on an Loft Law case

Postby ArtistLoftLawEvicted » Thu Jun 07, 2012 10:15 am

I am an 83 years old southamerican visual artist.
I was evicted from my only primary residence. Last Wednesday May, 30th, the Marshal Edward F. Guida came to my home and made me go out immediately without the possibility of take any belongings, neither my passport or other personal documents, nor medicines or clothes. The locker was changed and I was in the hallway with nothing at all. I was not allowed to go back in.
This was the result of four years of court proceedings.

I am a resident of Lower Manhattan that have lived there for 34 years. I was here for 23 years before the name Tribeca was adopted. I was living at this address for 6 years before Jack Laboz, the father of the present landord, bought the building.

In 1982, the Loft Law was enacted by the New York State Congress. Afterwards, the Loft Law ordered New York City to create a new agency: The New York Ciyt Loft Board. Sections and rules of the New York City Loft Board are Tittle 29.

Although the Loft Board do not contain an ‘absence clause', they accused me of this not being my primary residence, as I traveled to visit my ailing mother and to comply with my art compromises.

The rent was always paid on time. Always.