TenantNet Forum

Where tenants can seek help and help others

Shared gas and electric meters

Issues unrelated to specific categories below

Moderator: TenantNet

Shared gas and electric meters

Postby vinjoeana » Thu Apr 11, 2013 12:45 pm

I'm not sure if this is the right place for this question but I have been renting a one family house for the past 2 years. There is someone living in the basement. My gas and electric bills are extremely high. I compared the usage (not the amounts since rates change) to what I have used in places I lived before that were larger than this one and at that time there were more people living with me. The usage in this house is a lot higher so I believe I am paying from a shared meter. I mentioned it to the landlord about the bill and she had gotten very defensive and said that the apt. downstairs is legal. She is now looking to raise my rent a lot so I checked the DOB website to see if the apt. downstairs is legal and it turns out it's not. I really can't afford the increase since my gas and electric bills are so high so I was going to call Con Ed to check on the meter. If it is determined that I have been paying a shared meter, would the landlord be responsible to reimburse me for all of the money I have paid? I believe she would either have to install meters for that apt or put the bill in her name but I was wondering about all of the bills that I have paid the last 2 years.

Thanks
vinjoeana

Postby TenantNet » Thu Apr 11, 2013 1:09 pm

I would start by going to http://www.tenant.net/Rights/Utility/util-toc.html

Many LLs - especially in Queens - have illegal basement units. It is common.

Where on the DOB website does it say that a particular unit is illegal? Last I checked, they don't flag illegal units, but would issue a violation.

Do you have a meter in your apartment?
The Tenant Network(tm) for Residential Tenants
Information from TenantNet is from experienced non-attorney tenant
activists and is not considered legal advice.