TenantNet Forum

Where tenants can seek help and help others

Is this grounds for my lease being null and void? Pleas

Moderator: TenantNet

Is this grounds for my lease being null and void? Pleas

Postby darthsmozers » Thu Jan 09, 2003 4:46 pm

Hi all,
I have a one year lease with my landlady. I am a college student living off campus. My "apartment" is a bedroom in a small "apartment suite" which is part of the landlady's house, but sealed off from the main house. I have an opportunity to move onto campus, and asked my landlady about it. She told me if I "find someone nice" to take my place and continue my lease through the end of its year (May 31st), I could vacate the apartment with no charge.

The first possible replacement I brought in loved the place, but upon meeting the landlady might have changed her mind. The landlady went through every possible negativity about the place (I assume so she can keep me as the tenant and not have to worry about switching, despite her early approval.)