TenantNet Forum

Where tenants can seek help and help others

LL asking intrusive questions and attaching riders on LR

NYC Rent Regulation: Rent Control/Rent Stabilized, DHCR Practice/Procedures

Moderator: TenantNet

LL asking intrusive questions and attaching riders on LR

Postby SlopeGuy » Mon Apr 04, 2016 3:21 pm

My Lease Renewal contains riders I've never signed before. One is a blanket RS lease rider, I've always read (esp. here) never to sign any sort of rider given in LR paperwork.

LL is also asking me to officially declare who my roommate(s) are, and I've never done that before. Is that necessary, if you are the sole person on your lease? The language they used seems to make it sound like the LL can either approve or deny you to even HAVE roommates whatsoever in the apt. :shock:

What exactly are the rules with AirBnB and RS apts when the leaseholder lives in the unit?
SlopeGuy

Re: LL asking intrusive questions and attaching riders on LR

Postby TenantNet » Tue Apr 05, 2016 3:43 am

First, make sure the rider you've received is the DHCR lease rider - see http://www.nyshcr.org/forms/rent/ralr1.pdf

If so, that is required to be attached to all vacancy and renewal leases. While there is a place on page 3 for the tenant to sign and return to the LL, we recommend that tenants do NOT do that. DHCR has confirmed to us that it's not required.

As for other riders, do not accept or acknowledge them. Lease renewals must be on the same terms and conditions as the expiring lease.

For roommates (this is not necessarily part of the renewal process and can be asked at any time), the LL does have the right to ask - and tenants must tell - the name of any roommates who are not on the lease. LLs can't withhold a lease renewal based on a tenant's failure to respond - but be aware, if they have specific information, they might take you to court.