TenantNet Forum

Where tenants can seek help and help others

Loss of Income, had to move out, what to do?

NYC Rent Regulation: Rent Control/Rent Stabilized, DHCR Practice/Procedures

Moderator: TenantNet

Loss of Income, had to move out, what to do?

Postby oreid » Mon Mar 06, 2017 3:46 pm

I've been a resident in a rent stabilized building for 3.5 years, but lost my job last fall and was unable to pay rent from October onwards. I've been a good tenant with no prior history of late payment and no complaints from my neighbors.

The landlord has not contacted me in any way. My financial situation is so bad that after these months racking up past due rent, I moved out to live with family. My lease is up in August 2017, but I can't pay what is owed, and I don't want to be liable for the rest of the lease (like subletting). I emailed property manager to let him know my situation and that I vacated unit. At first he insisted that I call him back, but then emailed me that I could mail keys. I didn't call him back, hoping to just keep the conversation to email.

What can I do to ensure that I'm protected and not liable for past rent or the remainder of the lease? I'm happy to mail the keys in to their PO Box (with return receipt) but how can I get assurances that they'll release me from the lease in writing? Of course, I know that my security deposit is gone.

fwiw, this is a HUGE company that buys up rent stabilized buildings and has a public history of harassing old tenants to move out. There has been zero communication from them during the time I've not been able to pay rent. Any advice would be so helpful esp because there is no one answering the NYC Tenant Rights Hotline. Thanks in advance!
oreid

Re: Loss of Income, had to move out, what to do?

Postby TenantNet » Mon Mar 06, 2017 11:51 pm