TenantNet Forum

Where tenants can seek help and help others

Problem w/ Broker/Landlord

NYC Rent Regulation: Rent Control/Rent Stabilized, DHCR Practice/Procedures

Moderator: TenantNet

Problem w/ Broker/Landlord

Postby tdriggs » Thu Sep 26, 2002 5:42 pm

I've been subletting a stabilized apt for the past 3 1/2 years. The broker for the building (who is married to the prime tenant) called me around August 15th and gave me two weeks to get out. Then I was told that the landlord would give me the lease at the 18% increase. Then for two weeks I couldn't reach the broker to get a time to sign the lease, and when he finally contacts me on Sept 1st, he says he wants a $1,400 broker fee. I already paid him $2,000 when I moved in 3 years ago. When I tried to negotiate down, he called me back and said that he would now need a guarantor (even though I've paid my rent on time for the past 3 years). I got him the guarantor and the info he needed. Now I haven't been able to reach him on the phone again - and he's not returning my calls. It has been 6 weeks since this began, and I did not pay my rent on Sept 1st since I planned on signing a lease and would give them certified checks at that time. The mgmt company won't take my check since I don't have a lease yet, and I'm afraid the LL will think I'm just flaking on my rent and start eviction proceedings - as I'm not sure how much the broker has relayed to him - or if the broker is even planning on writing up the lease now. I still want to sign the lease and I'm unsure how to proceed at this point. Any advice would be great. Thank you.

<small>[ September 26, 2002, 05:44 PM: Message edited by: TDiddy ]</small>
tdriggs

Re: Problem w/ Broker/Landlord

Postby Mr Gray » Fri Sep 27, 2002 7:28 pm

I think I talked to you on the phone about this! :)

I would try and contact the management company directly saying the broker hasn't contacted you about this and see what they say.