TenantNet Forum

Where tenants can seek help and help others

Succession

NYC Rent Regulation: Rent Control/Rent Stabilized, DHCR Practice/Procedures

Moderator: TenantNet

Succession

Postby Nathaniel Ruhlman » Thu Apr 18, 2002 11:00 am

My great-grandmother is on the verge of moving out of her rent controlled apartment and I would like to take it over. Here are the facts. I have lived here with her since 1991. I have been signing the rent checks for two years from an account that lists me as power of attorney. I have durable general power of attorney for her. My great grandfather moved into the apartment in 1932 with his first wife. He remarried in 1980 so the woman I live with is technically my step-great grandmother. When he passed away, she never signed any lease, but was told that she could live in the apartment as long as she paid the rent. As a final note, although I have selfish motivations for keeping the apartment, there are other factors involved. The nursing home is right around the street from the apartment and as I am her only relative in New york (she was never married before and has no children) I need to be close by and also want to have her over to the apartment frequently. Despite being 95 she still teaches voice and wants to continue giving periodic lessons out of the apartment. The landlord is aware of my presence, but how should I let them know when she's moving out? Should I even let them know? I could keep sending them checks so long as she is alive but I would prefer to do everything by the books. Help!
Nathaniel Ruhlman

Re: Succession

Postby consigliere » Thu Apr 18, 2002 3:55 pm

Great-grandfather, great-grandmother, great-grandson, and great-granddaughter are not listed as a "family member" for purposes of succession in DHCR Fact Sheet #30 - Succession Rights.

consigliere

Postby TenantNet » Thu Apr 18, 2002 5:41 pm