TenantNet Forum

Where tenants can seek help and help others

LL not honoring part of the lease?

Rights for non-regulated tenants

Moderator: TenantNet

LL not honoring part of the lease?

Postby rondoamr » Mon Jun 08, 2009 3:42 pm

I recently moved into an apartment where the landlord lives directly above me. I am a professional musician (classical piano) and I practice about 5 hours daily. The landlord knew this before agreeing to having me there. There is a clause in the lease that there will be "mutually acceptable practice hours." There is also a clause which says that I will be responsible for putting a rug in the room with the piano and they will install soundproofing in that room.

What if they decide that it's too expensive for them to install this soundproofing material? They have now told me that they might not do it if it costs too much. Can they evict me for creating too much noise? Can they set the practice hours at prohibitively narrow hours? I don't want to make their lives miserable, but this is my vocation and livelihood!

Thank you for reading.
rondoamr

Postby concord » Mon Jun 08, 2009 8:05 pm

-- CLARIFY THE LEASE TERMS --

Firstly, I would suggest that you clarify a few points:

(1)
Does the clause specify the exact time slot for piano practice during the day (e.g. from 2:00PM to 4:00PM)?

(2)
Are the characteristics of the rug that, you must install, defined?

(3)
Are any binding time frames listed at all (e.g. soundproofing shall be installed by this date; tenant may or, may not, start practicing until the soundproofing has been installed, etc.)?

-- CONTRACTUAL PERSPECTIVE --

I am looking at this strictly from a contractual view. I would suggest that, if none of these terms are defined with clarity then there is wiggle-room for you. That is, you may reasonably assume that the following would be compliant with the expressed terms of the contract [the lease]:

(A)