TenantNet Forum

Where tenants can seek help and help others

How can I delay a holdover proceeding?

Rights for non-regulated tenants

Moderator: TenantNet

How can I delay a holdover proceeding?

Postby bkjones » Mon Sep 14, 2009 10:12 am

I'm supposed to be making an initial appearance tomorrow. I haven't yet found an apt. and I want to drag this out. Any suggestions from someone experienced?
311 dropped my complaints after they didn't show up to see the apt. I have to reopen that.
Anyone think I should offer LL opportunity to drop her eviction case if I drop the complaints?
bkjones

Postby Jeffnet » Mon Sep 14, 2009 7:19 pm

How do you know that HPD dropped your complaints? Did they tell you that? You should probably keep calling everyday until they show up. You need those violations if you're going to court.

I'm not experienced in housing court as I've never been there, but all advice I've read points to having as much documentation of needed repairs as you possibly could.

I remember your previous post. Hope everything works out ok for you.
Jeffnet

Postby bkjones » Tue Sep 15, 2009 5:53 pm

thanks. When I called HPD to follow up they told me they'd dropped complaints and I have to start all over.
FYI, asking for an adjounment is the initial step in delay.
Here's what happened to me. I went right away in the morning hoping to adjourn my case before I got on the calendar. No luck, and they needed my LL present to do so. So I contacted her and asked if she could come over. Instead of proceeding to adjournment, she suggested signing a stip. We worked out the details and it's not perfect for me, but better than getting blacklisted while apt. hunting. I got 2 months abatement, which I will lose if I stay beyond Nov. I have to pay full rent starting Oct. Agree to be out no later than Jan. I drop the complaints, she drops the proceeding. We signed and I left.