TenantNet Forum

Where tenants can seek help and help others

Disabled Tenant facing Possible Eviction

Moderator: TenantNet

Disabled Tenant facing Possible Eviction

Postby redhawk2005 » Tue Aug 05, 2014 12:00 am

I am a disabled veteran and month-to-month tenant renting a house in Upstate NY. My landlord and his wife are possibly getting a divorce, and he has indicated to me that his wife might be seeking to move into the house I am renting. No formal or informal notice of her intent to do so has been sent to me as yet.

To make this as short as possible I will list my concerns:

1. I believe landlord or his wife will try to make me pay for the deck which was in poor condition when I moved in and which has not been cleaned or resealed in 17 years.

2. That she will make me pay for the carpeting, which does have some stains due to being laid in the kitchen itself, but which is 17 years old.

3. She will try to make me pay for other miscellaneous items such as rust on the refrigerator door, rust on the entrance door (which is near totally rotted out) and rotten out wall and missing tiles in the bathroom. One refrigerator drawer is damaged due to a break-in by a bear. Who is responsible for the cost of the drawer?

4. landlord has not maintained two month security deposit in separate bank account but has "comingled" funds with his own. Can I demand security deposit back prior to expiration of lease or use it for last two months rent?

5. Landlord told me that his wife would be coming to the house with the Town's building inspector to do an inspection, and that the inspector was a personal friend of hers through a church they are both involved with. I am concerned that building inspector will be operating as landlord's agent while claiming to represent the Town. His wife even asked me what day I would be available for him to inspect, as if she is his secretary.