TenantNet Forum

Where tenants can seek help and help others

Inspection Frequency and Quiet Enjoyment

Moderator: TenantNet

Inspection Frequency and Quiet Enjoyment

Postby R. Lyons » Sun Oct 31, 2010 5:11 pm

I have no experience with this and need some help. A friend lives outside NYC in a month-to-month situation. He tells me that his landlord is insisting on a weekly inspection of the unit, as per an old lease, which has long since expired. According to my friend, this "right" was not enforced until recently.

On top of the intrusion, my friend suffers from severe environmental allergies, and people coming into the apartment can aggravate the condition.

Can a landlord insist on a weekly inspection? Seems excessive and against quiet enjoyment. What are a (month-to-month) tenant's rights in this situation in NYS?
R. Lyons

Postby queensborough » Sun Oct 31, 2010 7:38 pm

There is no lease any longer if your friend is month to month, so whatever the lease may have stated no longer applies.

A tenant should be given at least 24 hours notice for an inspection, and has every right to be there. What exactly does he need to see on a weekly basis? That is beyond excessive.

I would tell the landlord that a weekly inspection is out of the question. Unfortunately, month to month tenants have basically no rights. Is this an apartment rental or some type of room rental?
queensborough

Postby R. Lyons » Sun Oct 31, 2010 9:43 pm

Apartment rental, according to my friend. I've never been there.

I'm getting the feeling the landlord is trying to "encourage" all the tenants to leave.
R. Lyons

Postby TenantNet » Sun Oct 31, 2010 10:10 pm

QB is incorrect here. There is a "lease" as a month-to-month lease. Although it might not be on paper, it's essentially a monthly and renewing extension of the expired lease, with all its provisions.